Department of Philosophy

About Us :

 The subject Philosophy was introduced in the year 1951 in P.U. (Pre-University) level and two years later , the subject was also introduced in the degree course (without Major). The Major Course was introduced in the session 1986-87. The founder lecturer of the Department was Mr. Harakanta Mahanta. Currently the Department offers UG Courses(Honours and Regular ) CBCS under Guahati University .The Department has four permanent faculty members and present students strength is 350.


Library Details :


Laboratory Details :


The Department have good IT facilities like LCD panel, Computer Desktop, Wi-Fi etc.

Faculty Members

Nabajyoti Doley

Manju Kalita

Bhupen Haloi , HoD

Sagarika Thaosen